I am, therefore I write

Random musings on my life and the world

The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test

on September 26, 2010

Hopefully Al will be happy to know that I stuck this out to the end, why, I am not sure but I told her I would read it so……

Tom Wolfe wrote this book about Ken Kesey and his adventures with LSD. I was way to young in the 1960′s to realize or care what LSD was, what you did with it, or anything else concerning the entire counter-culture movement. My daughter, on the other hand is absolutely and completely riveted by this topic.

Did I enjoy the book? Not really, but this is mostly because I really have zero interest in the topic. Did I think it was well written? Not really, especially after Alison confirmed for me that Wolfe got 95% of his information for the book from the many hours of audio tapes recorded during Kesey and the Merry Prankster’s bus tour and various “acid tests”.  I think I would have been more interested had Wolfe taken part in the LSD trips himself. In fairness, he did get some information from participants, but this book was not really a “how to” guide for would be new age Merry Prankster’s but really the story of Kesey and his cult like following, all centered around LSD. If I am going to be honest, I got a lot out of a recent PBS/ History channel production that told of the beginnings of LSD and also talked about Kesey, among others. I got much less out of Wolfe’s book. Sorry Al.


Love to hear from you!

TQIDiet

The TQI Diet: Quiet inflammation with food

The Nature of Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Incidentally

Just another WordPress.com site

notquiteold

Gracefully Aging - With Resistance

bodhisattvaintraining

inner workings of an untamed mind

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

the dancing professor

building back the habit of writing, one day at a time

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

