Am I the only loser around WordPress?

A little query for my readers. Are you losing posts? Not so much your own but others posts? Are you reading every single post of every single blogger that you follow?

Maybe reading is the wrong word because I’m sure as a conscientious blogger you hang on every single word of every single fellow bloggers amazing posts. I suppose what I mean to ask is are you sure you are being alerted to each new post by WordPress in whatever system you have set up for those alerts?

I am supposed to be told every time a blogger places a new post on up on the site. I’m not sure this is happening. I just randomly spent some time in that little section that details all the blogs I follow and I will swear within an inch of my life that I have never seen some of those posts show up in my email alerts.

If this is true then where are those post alerts and why do I only get some and not all? Is this an arbitrary, random system that will, on a whim, decide that a post isn’t worthy of my attention and not tell me about it? Is there another dstecca out there getting alerts to bloggers they don’t follow and not understanding why?

I follow certain bloggers for a reason and I don’t want to miss their posts. I enjoy their posts and often interacting with them and I feel cheated if I am somehow out of the loop.

The alternative to my apparent loss of posts is slightly more worrisome. Maybe I am losing my mind. Quite possibly I actually have read all the posts and I just don’t recall, but don’t you think something, some little nuance would stand out as a memory, no matter how faint, to fire those synapses and send a mental sticky note saying “idiot, you just read that one two days ago and even commented on it.”

Will someone out there reassure me that my mind is sound and functioning correctly. Will someone please tell me that they have also lost a few posts here and there or found themselves questioning why WordPress may have singled them out to receive only specific posts.

Wait, I hear something. A faint voice–growing louder. Could this be the explanation I seek?

You’re traveling through another dimension, a dimension not only of sight and sound but of mind. A journey into a wondrous land whose boundaries are that of imagination. That’s the signpost up ahead – your next stop, the Twilight Zone!

5 thoughts on “Am I the only loser around WordPress?”

  1. I’ve wondered this too – maybe it’s like facebook and there’s some algorithm that determines which blogs show up? That sort of defeats the purpose of subscribing, of course… I’ll be curious to hear if you get any definite answers.

    Like

Love to hear from you!

