Transformations

But first! I took these shots a few weeks ago in the early morning and forgot to post them.

Our resident raccoon family arriving for breakfast:

DSCN0344

 

DSCN0346

 

There ARE NOT five in total, only three as shown in the first picture but they always stop by the water bowl when they finish their meal. I usually find it overturned when I get up.

So the purpose of my post was to show some pictures of the refurbished yard. I cannot begin to tell everyone just how happy it makes me to look outside and not see weeds.

This is a small patch of what our entire lawn looks like right now. It was thatched, aerated, and re-seeded so our hope is that the recurring rain doesn’t wash all the new seed away. It looks doubly horrible because I was standing in the shade to take this picture. We actually have a lot more of our old grass left. This makes it look like a sad, scruffy field.

DSCN0365

 

A few planters along my fence line; the area behind my deck that used to be a tangled mess of dead vines from the trumpet vine above which you can’t see, and three laurel bush stumps; and one section of the back of the house with a vine maple (which needs a trim) as well as roses and hydrangea which blooms later.

DSCN0362

DSCN0364

 

DSCN0366

DSCN0367

 

This is my side yard. It has a mix of coral bells, daisy and hostas. The hostas look gorgeous this year. I started these about 3 years ago from tiny little starts.

DSCN0361

 

My hedge that actually looks like a hedge now. This thing completely died out a few years ago and we never thought it would come back but apparently it was hardier than we realized. It would grow forever and it is pretty is spring with tiny pink flowers.

DSCN0360

 

The next series is my front entry planter with the cat basking. Most of what you see here and in the next photo were transplanted from the opposing planter (third photo) that is now devoid of grass and probably won’t be planted with anything this summer; the rhododendrons in front that are way too big but can’t be trimmed until later and another vine maple that is out of hand,

DSCN0369

 

DSCN0370

 

DSCN0371

 

DSCN0374

 

We move on now to the juxtaposition of weeded beds as compared to the neighbors adjoining space: they are young, they are probably living very frugally but an effort would be appreciated. The big space in front of the rhododendron is where we had a large tree come down during the ice storm. There’s a stump buried under the bark and it’s going to stay there.

DSCN0372

 

And finally the one unfinished bed. This is where the noxious weed had taken over. I got a few plantings today and put them in, will probably get a few more over the weekend and then Alison is going to spread the rest of the bark for me. I am sticking will low maintenance plants out here, just some things that will grow only high enough to block the lovely view of all the utility boxes. Can you tell this subdivision was built in the early 1990’s.

DSCN0358

 

It looks so sad now but these will all grow up in height to be between 4 feet in the back, 2-3 feet in the middle and the little ones are some more coral bells which spread easily over time and will mound with some color.

DSCN0359

 

DSCN0368

 

Anyway folks, there you have it, or at least what it is so far.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Transformations”

  1. What a nice area. When I was young, I knew nothing of gardening. Maybe it is the same with your young neighbors. We also have a raccoon that visits occasionally, and an opossum that shows up from time to time.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping at my blog! It’s difficult with the younger folk next door as I know they have little time and even less money but occasionally pulling a few weeds or raking and mowing the lawn would improve their view of the world as well as the neighborhoods 🙂 As to the local animal kingdom-we have had an opossum family living in a large, vine covered arbor for years. The blue jays also love to stop by but they are too quick to get pictures of!

      Like

  2. Wow, you have worked hard. The embryo lawn will be fabulous, and I love all the little plants. Is that hedge an escallonia? I have some in a mixed hedge, and it always makes me smile when it’s in flower – and it makes a nice low table decoration with a few other flowers.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by the blog Viv. I don’t think I really knew the name of the hedge plantings until you asked, but looking at pictures seems to confirm that you are correct! I love the little pink flowers this hedge produces.

      Like

Love to hear from you!

