Microsoft is pissing me off

I don’t really enjoy being told that I have to do something-anything actually. I especially don’t need or want a mega-corporation telling me that in just a few months my PC will no longer be safe, no longer will be afforded updates, and that will one day, I assume sooner rather than later, will simply need to be replaced after years of friendship and loyalty.

Microsoft is going full tilt to tell the users of Windows XP that in April we are on our own.
Yes, I have XP on my computer and I love it. I am not ashamed to admit that. I got this laptop in 2008, maybe even 2007. It was at the same time that I made the decision to go back to college. At the time, I didn’t know Vista, didn’t really want to know Vista and so chose, when Dell built my computer for me, to go with XP.

It is logical, simple, comfortable, and does exactly what I need.

Now Microsoft will stop supporting XP users in April. Dire warnings are in the news and on television everyday speaking to the risks that XP users face. I am intelligent and I can make my own choices regarding risks of continuing to use a program that is unsupported. However, I don’t appreciate that Microsoft is using this decision to step away from XP to push their newest operating system: Windows 8/8.1.

I understand that tablets and touchscreens are technological marvels only dreamed about when XP came out. I also understand that Microsoft has to sell its products. That’s what mega-corporations do. In fairness, Microsoft is saying that it might be possible to upgrade to Windows 7 or to Windows 8 if you currently have XP.

Start reading all the news articles about upgrading. It won’t be simple. It won’t be pretty. It probably won’t even work. In a nutshell, Microsoft is basically forcing XP users (with non-support scare tactics) to ditch their old PC and run right out to purchase a new piece of technology already loaded with Windows 8.1.

I loath Windows 8. Again, to be fair I might feel differently if we used that OS on a touchscreen compatible device. We don’t. My husband has Windows 8 on his computer. This is the separate monitor and CPU that he refuses to give up. The big, dust-collecting system sitting in our bedroom with cords snaking, and curling and wrapping around other cords. That is where we have Windows 8 installed. I have used that system only a few times. It is not touchscreen compatible and so you have to do things with the mouse, and with the open windows that to me seem ridiculous. I have no desire to take the time to learn how to use this system, thus I don’t want that system on my existing computer, nor do I want a new computer with Windows 8.

My basic computer works just fine for what I need, but Microsoft is assuring me that I will, at some point, need to move out of the dark ages and into the light so why not do it now. They are talking to the woman who still avoids getting a new cell phone that does more than text and make phone calls.

I’m not a technology prude. I understand that change is inevitable. I am ticked off though, and I believe rightly so, when choice is taken away from me. I am also not naive. I know that just after I finally consent to the Microsoft gods and run out with credit card in hand to buy that new and better device installed with Windows 8.1 I will be privileged to learn that Microsoft has just introduced Windows XYZ–the new and enhanced version of defunct Windows XP.

I will have a shiny new device with an OS I hate, and oh…by the way…the warning that attempting to upgrade to the new Windows XYZ will cause a total meltdown of my new computer but Microsoft will give me a $50 store credit when I rush out to buy a replacement.

One thought on “Microsoft is pissing me off”

Love to hear from you!

