Thoughts on a Chromebook

Does anyone out there use a Chromebook on a regular basis?

If you read my post a few weeks ago about my irritation with Microsoft and their all out capitalist frenzy to force users to update operating systems or face computer hell and extinction then I can personally attest that the beginning of the end has already come to be. It’s nothing major at the moment, although come next Tuesday I am envisioning a complete meltdown of my wonderful old friend, I know that things will have to change.

I am adamantly attempting to refuse buying into the Windows 8/8.1 bandwagon. The biggest reason for this is that I have a greater than sneaking suspicion that within a few years Microsoft will be telling me once more that my brand new, 2014 OS is toast and forcing me to acquiesce to their power once more.

I have been thinking about simply going to a Chromebook and nixing anything Microsoft. I use Google Chrome anyway as my browser. I was pretty loyal to IE for a long time, mostly because I was too lazy to explore other browsers. I’m happy with Google now, it works well and when I want and expect it to unlike IE which has frustrated me to no end.

I realize that a Chromebook lacks things that my trusty Dell laptop has, but the reality is that once I finish this final class I don’t need a computer to do much. One daughter has a Chromebook and seems happy with it. What it lacks for her right now is easily handled on the home desktop computer, however she has always been a Google aficionado so it wasn’t a hard sell for her when her old laptop met with a traumatic end.

I also, being the frugal person that I am, see little reason to spend more money than really necessary for something that will be used for basic tasks.

Any opinions would be appreciated.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on a Chromebook”

  1. I’ve written quite a bit about Chromebooks on my blog. Take a look, it might help you make a decision. But yes, I’m a huge fan of Chromebooks/Chromeboxes as a concept. I got my Acer C720 sort of on a lark (had a Best Buy giftcard and figured, why not) and it is the device I use by far the most for the internet – over my 2011 Sony Vaio, 2013 Surface Pro, 2013 Alienware X51, or my Moto X (though I do love that phone). I do all my blogging on it and use it on my lunch break at work. It is a great device. If you can divorce yourself from iTunes and can get by with a lighter (but free and compatible) version of MS Word/Excel/Powerpoint, then I strongly recommend a Chromebook, OR, if you’re not needing a portable device, check out the awesome Asus Chromebox for $179 that just came out.

    Like

Love to hear from you!

