Blogging demands engagement

I have been writing this blog for a few years, and like many people who generally find ease and security by remaining inside a safe, comfort zone I have chosen my comfort zone to be a limited number of blogs in my follow list.

I actually believe that this self-protective measure was more about a lack of time than anything else. I recently stopped being a student. Prior to that I stopped being a full-time employee. Following, reading, and commenting with a great number of blogs, even ones that I felt a kinship with, was always just too time consuming. I believe that I have a sense of duty to the blogs I choose to follow. If those blogs are interesting enough to me to click the follow button in the first place then I owe them some degree of loyalty to read, like their posts (if I truly do like them) and comment. In other words, I think we owe our fellow bloggers interaction. 

Isn’t that one of the reasons we are all here in the first place? Don’t most of us desire feedback, be it positive or even negative? I certainly do. Let’s face it, it’s nice to know that people all over the world are reading my words. It’s even nicer, and much more engaging, to find comments and replies to what I write. I assume others feel the same.

With that in mind I have taken some time lately to explore blogs that have been Freshly Pressed, blogs that are recommended based on my likes or the blogs I currently follow, and blogs that publish under specific categories that interest me. I take the time to check new blogs About pages as well as read some of their current posts. I have found myself generally wanting to engage in quite a few truly interesting sites, and have not only liked many of them, but also clicked that follow tab quite often as well.

I still have my old favorites of course, but opening myself up to new voices has also helped to renew my interest in my own writing. I am feeling challenged once more to spend time on my own site, especially now that I actually have the time to do that. I feel comfortable with my original set of blogging friends, but am enjoying the experience of expanding into new territory. Blogging, in my opinion, is about sharing with others and that’s what I intend to do.

 

Love to hear from you!

