Reaching out and finding reward

I talked the other day about being an engaged blogger. I have also finished the annual change in theme and a much needed update to my “About” page. I also made the decision to correct my long neglect of reaching out to other bloggers by actively searching out interesting blogs to follow.

The rewards of this work are many. They come in the form of many more likes, and many more followers to this blog and I truly appreciate that so many of you are stopping by.

I can fully understand the role of the interested, yet not quite ready to commit, liker or follower. I also know that it is partly my responsibility, when I receive a like or follow from someone new, to seek out their blog. I almost always go to their own “About” page first to get an overall impression. I usually read a few random posts as well.

Sometimes I connect right away. Often that is because my interests are very similar to the new bloggers. Sometimes though, a blogger will begin to follow my blog for reasons that don’t seem all that clear. Here’s and example.

I occasionally post pictures that I have taken, yet I am not a photographer in any sense of the word. By tagging the blog, or using a category heading of Photos or Photography, I sometimes receive likes, or even follows from bloggers who are using this overall blogging forum to showcase amazing photographic work. I can’t help but be curious about those bloggers. I can easily see why they publish on WordPress, yet I wonder what it is that made them decide to hit the like button or the follow tab for my blog.

Another example.

I am trying to get back into my pre-student routine of reading for pleasure. To be honest, that has been hard. When you are told what to read for over four years, and how to comment on that reading using specific formats, you tend to read a novel with an eye to key passages, an extreme need to highlight or underline, or find yourself taking notes for unknown reasons. All of that detracts greatly from simply enjoying the novel for what it is: a work of imaginative fiction.

I will often share my thoughts on these books under the guise of What I’m Reading, my take on a very informal review. When I publish these types of posts I often find likes and even some new followers who are usually tied to blogs about literature, book clubs, specific genres, etc. Yet once more, I wonder just what it is about that particular blog post that made this new blogger like my site.

So, I have a challenge, both for my existing liker’s and follower’s as well as anyone new who stops by with this post. I am incredibly grateful that you chose to hit like or follow, but tell me why, please. Just a few words, a simple comment, something to allow me to gain greater insight into the people who stop by my blog. I know many of us follow a large number of blogs. This was a big reason why I kept my follows close and small. It can often seem impossible to comment to everyone. Sometimes you just don’t have much too say even if you like the writing. Sometimes, you decide that it’s even better NOT to comment, although I hope that we respect each other enough as writers to voice our opinions openly and respectfully.

I have made a promise to myself to try to do more than just routinely hit the like button. If the comments I make are viewed and read then I have engaged with others around me. Even a small word can help us to gain better understanding, and the ability to share with fellow bloggers. If the comments I make are ignored, or time is short for reading them, I can still (perhaps selfishly) feel as if I reached out and maybe inspired some sort of connection.

2 thoughts on “Reaching out and finding reward”

  1. hi Deb! Taking up your invitation to introduce myself, and say a bit about why I decided to click Follow when I came across your blog. Like you, I have recently committed to seeking out more personal blogs (and bloggers!) to engage with; I started writing my own as much to forge connections and build community as to have a space to put down my own words. Feminist, atheist, sociology, poetry, tempted by the idea of going back to school (though deciding against it)–these were all things in your About that rang a chord. I’m enjoying what I’ve seen of your work this week (and I’m now very curious about your other blog; that was quite a teaser you wrote!), and I look forward to reading more here.
    best, Alice

    Like

    1. Welcome Alice! It’s great to meet you and learn that some of the things in my blog struck you, or at least made you curious. I stopped very briefly to read your About page, as well as your post about the beloved kitty Hildi. That rang out loudly to me as our very spoiled Snowflake is settled into old age…arthritis, deaf in both ears, that yowling that you described so well, the litter box issues. It is heartbreaking to know that you and your dear friend are much closer to the end than we are here and I wish both you and HIldi a calm and peaceful time until you feel the need to make the call.
      Please stop often, and I love comments so feel free. I also look forward to reading more from your blog as well.
      Deb

      Like

Love to hear from you!

