Media Monday: Sort of…

I’ve spent some time trolling the internet news feeds, as well as some local newspapers and nothing much is jumping out at me for this Media Monday. Of course I’m not implying that there isn’t anything newsworthy out there. I am saying outright though, that I don’t wish to make this Media Monday a post with negatives. I feel that if I go with commentary on the majority of articles or news lines available though, I will be presenting a post decidedly negative.
In honor of finishing my weekend getaway with nothing but fluff, because why not-we can’t always be opinionated, mindful, socially relevant bloggers- I will share a few topics of import to some from the Sunday copy of the Seattle Times Northwest Arts & Life section.

***Damn, damn, damn! I love my Chromebook but, as in the past, I just inadvertently hit some key that erased two paragraphs of writing and I have no idea how to get it back. I don’t even know what I hit. although it appears to have something to do with my right pinkie finger. What follows is an edited, and actually more succinct version so I am okay with losing my work–this time.

Mary McNamara of the Los Angeles Times gets kudos for 1/2 of a news page that covers the NEW FALL TV LINE UP as it relates to family viewing. While I am not a huge evening TV watcher-mostly because my sleep cycle begins at 8PM and I drag my body to bed precisely at 9PM-I know that some may care about the coordination of their reality TV schedule and these new programs.

Simply because I mentioned family viewing I must say that did care once, long ago as a child, about the fall TV schedule. The phrase breathless anticipation serves well here. I remember waiting for the new TV Guide to come out with listings of all the new shows. I admit I was more than a little obsessed, and that coordination of my personal TV schedule was important. That was until our family got a second TV and moved my dad into an unused back bedroom- the TV Room- so that sports events could continue their rightful place in the home.

Right next to the McNamara article is a quick guide, just call them synopses okay, written by Chuck Barney for the Contra Costa Times, of the fall line up.  Checking his guide may give some of us the opportunity to set our DVR’s. I admit to being intrigued by Tea Leoni as the Secretary of State in “Madam Secretary,” which actually begins tonight. I may have to watch that one. I thought I might check into “The Mysteries of Laura” starring Debra Messing, because I rather like Debra, but the reviews are less than outstanding.

As to the rest on Barney’s list, meh. Most of them come on after my bedtime anyway.

Moving on and trying to be brief.

This book review article goes specifically to my fellow blogger and outstanding academic The Dancing Professor.

WAIT! STOP! I thought this lovely lady was MIA as I haven’t seen any of her typical daily posts come across my list of followed blogs in quite a few days. Heading over to link her blog for this part of the post, I realized that somewhere along the line, I SCREWED UP & UNFOLLOWED HER!!!! Professor, I apologize, but so very glad to know that you have not mysteriously disappeared from blogging. I even had some concern regarding those feral cat comments we discussed recently. I was contemplating calling in the authorities… Rest assured that my afternoon will be spent catching up on your posts.

Resuming- Katharine Schwab, a Seattle Times staffer, includes her review of Yale professor William Deresiewicz’s newest book Excellent Sheep: The Miseducation of the American Elite and the Way to a Meaningful Life. I deeply like this lines that Schwab includes from the book in her review: “…elite institutions prize ‘excellent sheep’ rather than ‘cantankerous intellectual bomb-throwers…'”

And to end, because why not throw some body-shaming, return-to-Victorian-ways into all this. Jenice Armstrong of the Philadelphia Daily News, and posted in the Times, has graciously chosen to enlighten us on “waist training.”

No more needs to be said.

2 thoughts on “Media Monday: Sort of…”

  1. the excellent sheep book made big news in my circles. I haven’t read it (and probably won’t, frankly) but from reviews and such it seems to make some pretty good points. Students at my elite and extremely pre-professional school certainly fit the ‘excellent sheep’ profile often – they don’t like to take risks, and many of them just want the grade. It’s frustrating, because they’re smarter than that, but, in my opinion, this is what you get when you make education all about testing and benchmarks rather than curiosity and learning. Pbbth.

    In other news: sounds like you had a nice break – welcome home 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. By the time they even get to college they’re conditioned for this structure. Our public school system likes to “teach to the test” beginning in elementary school. We are certainly teaching our kids not to think for themselves. That tutoring program I was involved with a while back should have been available to every student, not just the struggling ones because the one positive was that it encouraged critical thinking–although sadly that concept was so foreign to the students it took us all year to get them comfortable with questioning, or god forbid, criticizing anything in their texts.

      Like

Love to hear from you!

