Deluge

I like that word, deluge, quite a lot. I also like the word inundate, which is used to help define deluge, as in to inundate with a large quantity of something. Something is a critical choice word as well because it opens up much more than the assumed inundation by water alone.

It is 6:30 AM, I am sitting in my office after reading through last nights new posts, and the rain is falling so quick and so hard outside my window, in the early morning darkness, that I can only hear the fact of a deluge. When light finally breaks through the cloud cover, and it will be filtered light at best, standing water will be my visual evidence of that inundating downpour.

Turn back a moment to my reference to the word something. Remember that old saying about “raining cats and dogs.” That phrase was going through my head as I read posts, listened to the storm and imagined what other somethings might be a part of a deluge. Then, unfortunately, my brain decided to shoot my memories right on back to a sad little cat that I still expect to see outside my window. Damn thing wasn’t my cat, but his presence still lingers and I still continue to believe that his life goes on, infection free and well-fed.

On a brighter note, I received the first of two Mary Daly books mentioned in last weeks Feminist Friday post, and as to  the book, written originally in 1968, I have merely glanced through the additions Daly made in 1985. They include an afterward, an autobiographical preface, and a “feminist postchristian introduction” (15-51). Note the length of the intro alone.

I found, on page two of the afterword, this footnote that sets the tone for what I expect to be a very vociferous denunciation of male religions and their place in the lives of women, both historically and into the future.

Daly, in defining her use of the word “church” in this text, wastes no time in blasting patriarchy.

 

“All of the so-called religions legitimating patriarchy are mere sects subsumed under its vast umbrella/canopy. They are essentially similar, despite the variations,…[and] are infrastructures of the edifice of patriarchy. All are erected as parts of the male’s shelter against anomie. And the symbolic message of all the sects of the religion which is patriarchy is this: Women are the dreaded anomie. Consequently, women are the objects of male terror, the projected personification of ‘The Enemy,’ the real objects of attack in all the wars of patriarchy” (xii-xiii).

That is simply the beginning of the deluge of words that follow. I’m more than just a little excited to read the rest of  Daly’s words.

I may, or may not spend time with a Feminist Friday post for tomorrow. I have to leave my warm, comfy chair and get some food into my cupboards. I just found three new vegetarian recipes (probably part of an upcoming post) that sound tasty and so my goal this morning is to venture out into the wild weather. Umbrellas will not suffice/stand up to what is happening outside my window, and what I am being told is going to continue throughout the day. After the journey I may have no more energy left, other than to curl up with Daly, or catch up on some DVR viewing.

I intend anyway, beginning in November, to alternate my Media Monday and Feminist Friday weekly posts. Two each per month is enough I think, and I can always toss crap that I want to rant about into general posts as well. Those will be the undefined, but associated MM and FF rants if you care to keep track.

What are you being deluged with today? Something positive I hope…

Daly, M. (1985). The church and the second sex. Boston, MA: Beacon.

1 thought on “Deluge”

  1. What a lovely meditation. I generally only think of the word “deluge” in the context of Louis XV’s apocryphal “apres moi, le deluge”–so, far from a positive image! And English’s less francophone option of “flooding” evokes (again, for me) particular theories of psychotherapy.

    That said, I do love staying cozy at home while the skies outside break open! I hope you enjoy the weather, and the Daly books, and whatever else your present deluge brings you.

    Like

Love to hear from you!

