What began as a blog share has become a ramble

Good intentions you know…and apparently my attention span is lacking today as my brain is leading me to speculate on a few completely diverse topics.

Eyebrows.

Do you think people would notice if the person they were conversing with didn’t have eyebrows? I ask that because I wonder just how many people really look their companion in the eye when they are talking. If you never look in that facial region, would you notice if the other person was wearing a full set of brows, or was hair-challenged. I admit that I skip around between the eyes and mouth when talking with others, and my attention tends to fall to the mouth more than the eyes. I used to believe that I was drawn to the mouth of the speaker because of my dental background. I have come to admit that I feel more comfortable when I’m not constantly staring into someone’s eyes as they speak. I like seeing their lips move while I hear the words. Anyway, I focused on my thinning eyebrows again this morning. For months one eyebrow was noticeably thinner, now the other is joining in. It’s a menopausal thing. I am not one of the women in menopause who gets the rush of testosterone doing crazy hair growth parties on her face. No chin hairs for me, and now apparently no more eyebrows before long. I’d prefer not to resort to painting them on, although if I don’t add a bit of pencil enhancement now they both look like they stop at the middle of my eye.

*I have tried for 10 minutes to find an acceptable image of painted on eyebrows and they are all so offensive to the people wearing them that I can’t include a picture, but I’m sure you’ve seen many shapes and sizes and colors for yourself so…

I don’t know if anyone would notice on my face though, as the frame of my glasses sits right along my eyebrow line…when my glasses stay in place that is.

Bangs.

Camouflage for eyebrow challenged women. The only reason someone of 55 or beyond should wear bangs, in my opinion.

Word challenged people. 

This surrounds a conversation from yesterday among other things. I am positive I used the correct word, although I admit that most folk would associate the word with one specific meaning. Mine was also correct. I just Googled it to be sure. In the context that I used the word I was justified. This alternate meaning however, was completely lost for the receiving person who listened to me say it. It was easier not to make a thing out of the lack of knowledge for this alternate meaning in this case. Way easier given the circumstances. It also irritated me that I was assumed to be stupid simply because my word usage held no credence to this other person and their minutely focused world.

Writers.

What makes someone a writer? This thought was actually inspired during my attempts to highlight the next blog in the ongoing series, but then the wandering mind took over.

I keep hearing Jeff Foxworthy and his tired old comedy routine You might be a redneck… when I ask myself that question about writing and writers. You might be a writer if…

See, to me a writer is a really ambiguous term or label. In a broad general sense anyone who has put pen/pencil/marker to paper and made some coherent letters turn into words and sentences and complete thoughts might assume they are a writer. Folk like me, beating out words onto a computer screen that reach one or fifty or five-thousand other folk, well we might decide that we are writers. Anyone of any age, cultural affiliation, gender, sexual orientation…anyone can be a writer, yet so many people define themselves with this label and also believe that they are magically, even profoundly important, or special, or gifted, or better.

Here’s my view. If you are profoundly important to the world because of the words you put down on paper or computer screen, or papyrus; if those words are special enough to bring joy, inspiration, anger controversy, or any other of a bazillion emotions to one person; if you have the power within your being to make people understand, question, ponder, feel; and maybe, (and I question myself on this one) if you have published something that is being read by millions or will be cataloged as worthy, or just touched one person in a meaningful way; if all those things are a part of who you are, then can we agree to label you as an author. The word author holds weight. The word author (to me) commands respect. The word author signifies a great deal of skill and training and command of language. The word author sounds strong. The word author is what many writers are striving to be.

I am a writer. I am not an author, nor will a most likely ever be. I am also quite guilty of using these two terms interchangeably and this is my call out to myself to stop doing that. This is also a personal thing. You don’t have to agree, it’s my semantic hang-up. I have a lot of semantic hang-ups. Enough hang-ups actually to wonder why I didn’t take up linguistics.

This section was inspired by 1) word challenged people, and 2) the memory of a fellow student in a creative writing course that ticked me off with her attitude and inability to accept criticism about any aspect of her ‘writing’ simply because she was a ‘published author,’ whatever the hell that means.

Okay, done for today. The real blog share will be coming soon.

Love to hear from you!

