Beyond a knitted tea cozy…

Since this picture was taken,

IMG_20141209_063516302

 

and the British inspired tea cozy project wrapped up with a bit more than moderate success, I have been doing this:

IMG_20150103_155403724_HDR

If you guessed knitting hats, DING DING DING and bingo for you.

I got an inspiration after the cozy to do something with my new found hobby that might benefit others while giving me enjoyment as well. Besides, how many hats and scarves can I expect my family to willingly accept.

So I’ve found some fairly easy, basic hat patterns and I’ve been knitting away, turning out gentleman’s, ladies, kids, and even one baby hat. *That one happens to be the whitish one smack dab in the middle of this picture. I have a few others, maybe 4 or 5 in the men’s sizes that aren’t necessarily perfect, but they are functional. Point of fact, I don’t think I can say that any of the hats I’ve turned out so far are perfect, but the few flubs or flaws that I have made are easily hidden so I still feel okay about the purpose and use of these intended objects.

And the intent is simple. By October of 2015, about 9 months from now, I hope to have at least a few boxes of hats ready to be donated to a homeless shelter or some other organization that helps those in need. I would like to stay local with this project, although in my scouting of hat patterns I have actually run across a website that details organizations across the country that accept handmade items such as these.

IMG_20150103_155623

Making these hats is giving me the opportunity to learn a number of new (to me) knitting stitches as well as experiment with various types of yarn and needle sizes. It’s pretty amazing how just small variations in needle size and type of yarn can change an entire pattern.

I like to see the patterns take shape with each new row. For now I’m still using straight single pointed needles, which means that I have to sew a seam in these hats to finish them. I’m just beginning to learn about circular needles, what they can do and how they are used. Using this type of needle would allow me to make hats with stripes, and also remove the need to seam each hat, but for now this simple way is okay.

http://knitting-crochet.wonderhowto.com/how-to/bind-off-knitting-circular-needle-0130084/
http://knitting-crochet.wonderhowto.com/how-to/bind-off-knitting-circular-needle-0130084/

I usually buy yarn in large sizes and on sale. Places like Wal-Mart have been helpful for picking up yarn on clearance because, wow- is it expensive otherwise.

I’ve also kicked around the idea of making baby hats, thus the trial making the tiny one in the middle of this picture.

IMG_20150103_155536438

That picture is deceptive. The hat is actually the perfect size for a newborn, the other two are kid size. You’ll just have to take my word as the perspective is obviously not planned out very well. Before I do too many baby hats, although they are quite fun and the yarn is amazingly soft, I think I should check with a local hospital to see if they would accept them, or try to find an appropriate organization that can help. If these aren’t going to be useful then I need to stick with the young child size and up, or make tons of baby hats and get a booth at the local farmer’s market next spring.

So now you know my new hobby. I’ve come to find knitting to be very relaxing. The hands/thumbs do okay most of the time. I just have to watch myself and keep knitting sessions to a minimum if a lot of purling is involved in the pattern. The movements my thumbs have to make to purl stitch are the hardest with arthritis.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Beyond a knitted tea cozy…”

  1. Wow! These are all really nice and I applaud your purpose and ambition. Tough to do with fingers that sometimes don’t want to cooperate I’m sure. It’s my shoulders that start to ache to tell me when I’ve done enough.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I’ve been searching for some small way to give back and this seemed like a good and easy first step. It will last as long as the hands do I suppose 😉

      Shoulders…essential for so many things so it’s important to listen to them when they begin to grumble.

      Liked by 1 person

Love to hear from you!

