I felt like the Big Winner today

I have one medication that I take regularly. It’s the common Lisinopril/HCTZ combo that many take for blood pressure issues. Mine is mild. In fact, after losing weight throughout this last year, I was able to cut the dose in half. Actually, my doctor was happy enough with the readings that he gave me the okay to stop, which I did for a while. But, on occasion I could tell that things just didn’t seem quite right. It’s funny how you can live for a long time with symptoms, not realizing why you feel slightly off, then begin a medication that returns things to normal, and then play around with those meds for a bit and almost instantly know that ‘off’ is closing in again.

The experiment in no medication left me not exactly happy with the way I felt after about three or four weeks. My doctor had sent me with instructions to monitor things and, if I chose after the trial period, I could go back to the medication, but he recommended trying a half dose.

I did that, and BINGO. All is right with my circulatory system again so half dose it will remain for now.

Anyway, the point of this post was not really to detail my health history, but to comment on the recent change of health insurance coverage I mentioned a few posts back when I touched on the growing idea to change health care providers. Today, I stopped by the pharmacy to pick up the latest refill of the Lisinopril, the pharmacist rang up the purchase, asked if I had any questions, told me to have a good day, and that was that. I didn’t have to pay anything. Nothing.

I like this insurance.

Now, it’s important to note that a ‘normal’ charge for this RX would be $4. With our old insurance I typically paid just $.99 so it’s not like I was needing to take out a loan or second mortgage on my house to pay for the medicine, but still, today it was FREE. Of course, I realize that free is a relative term when speaking of insurance coverage and the monetary involvement of my husbands paycheck, so free may not be the best choice, but I think you can understand my point.

I actually walked very slowly away from the counter, waiting to hear a female voice calling me back…”Oh Debbie I’m sorry, I rang that up incorrectly. There’s a balance on that prescription.”

That didn’t happen. I was in such awe that I stopped my shopping cart a few aisles over, out of sight of the pharmacy counter, and pulled out the instructions and receipt. Balance due on both: $0.00.

Saving $.99 every month is a nice thing. It won’t make me rich any time soon, but I’ll take it.

I also need to find a new use for that excess change caddy in my car console. It seems that I won’t have that lone penny, my usual change from each months refill purchase, to toss in there anymore. I’m not very fond of pennies, so it seems that I’m a double winner in this deal.

1 thought on “I felt like the Big Winner today”

Love to hear from you!

