Priceless Conversations with Miss G

During my morning coffee and Miss G’s snack of fruit we had pulled out the old baby toys that will soon be transferred over to her new baby sister. Miss G enjoys looking through them and it gives me an opportunity to talk about what life will be like when her sister is finally ‘out of mamas tummy.’

**Just to interject here. I am all for using correct verbiage when discussing body parts with kids and had this been the first time Miss G had ever had a discussion about babies and bodies, I would have introduced and continued to use the word uterus. She has been comfortably associating her baby sister as living in mamas tummy since her parents told her that she was going to be a big sister so I don’t intend to try to change up the language now. We can discuss the uterus when she’s a bit older.

At one point she looked at me and asked, “Grandma, do you have a baby in your tummy?”

Had anyone else had the audacity to ask me that I would have immediately gotten pissed off at their assumption because, while I may have a middle-aged, soft grandma tummy, I also do not look at all like I am of childbearing age anymore.

However, Miss G asked so sweetly and casually and sincerely, and then it just got funny.

“Grandma, do you have a baby in your tummy?”

“No, but remember when we talked about you mama being my baby, Grandma’s baby? Your mama was in my tummy a long time ago.”

“Noooo, mama isn’t in your tummy.”

Changing gears so as to avoid more confusion I laughed and admitted to being silly.

“Miss G, does your Coco (the dog) have a baby in her tummy?”

Giggling, “No!”

“Does Kiki (the cat) have a baby in her tummy?”

“No.”

“Do you have a baby in your tummy?” as I tickled her.

“No!” That response came with a bit of indignation at my obvious stupidity.

“Does dada have a baby in his tummy?”

“Dada does have a baby in his tummy!”

“He does?”

“He has a food baby. Dada has a food baby in his tummy.”

Honest to god, dead serious, Miss G said that with a straight face.

3 thoughts on “Priceless Conversations with Miss G”

Love to hear from you!

