Gratitude Day 25

This little exercise in gratitude has not necessarily been a piece of cake and today is no exception. I promised myself when I started this process on October 1st that I would be honest.

Today I have struggled to find even one thing that seems to bring gratitude.

Actually that’s not quite true. I enjoyed the words of blogging friends. I enjoyed planning for and working on a little project with my daughter. I felt grateful for both of those things, however…

I am also allowing the actions and presence of someone to irritate, anger and overshadow even those small moments of gratitude that were presented to me today.

I had hoped that part of the purpose of this month long gratitude series would enable me have a brighter, more positive outlook each day when it came to personal issues. I had hoped that I would begin to recognize that I do not have to give in to the negativity that seems to surround a large part of my life.

I have six days left and today I don’t feel like I have accomplished anything towards that positive goal. In fact, I feel as if I have taken about ten steps backward.

In that regard, I am grateful (today at least) that I ONLY HAVE SIX DAYS LEFT to muster up daily gratitude.

3 thoughts on “Gratitude Day 25”

  1. I am grateful today for our right to shitty days too. I am grateful for friends and writers who give me space to feel lousy, and who do not push a relentless narrative of “the right attitude can conquer ANYTHING! Regardless of circumstances!”

    Some of my questions have crystal clear answers — that I really, REALLY don’t want to accept as true. Or act on. But you’re right: sometimes in questing for a positive outlook, we stumble over difficult answers.

    Thanks for reminding me I’m not the only one struggling with that fact. (((hugs)))

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I for one, am very thankful you have faithfully plodded ahead with this exercise in spite of your feelings…. Your blog posts have stirred something in me, even if I haven’t commented on every one. I saw a poster yesterday and thought of you (and your thankful posts) it said…”expect nothing, appreciate everything…” keep at it! you are planting seeds. DM

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks DM. I’m glad to know that this month has been inspiring for others. It was working pretty well for me, but apparently my attitude can be easily overpowered to search out the negative…that realization simply proves to me that some of my questions have clear answers rather I want to accept them or not.

      Liked by 2 people

Love to hear from you!

