Determined to make this a grand day

In a few hours I will set out for the coast and a few days of solitude. Most of the time I don’t mind the two hour drive. It is straightforward, usually predictable and scenic enough that I can stay awake and focused.

I remember going on vacation as a child, leaving early in the day headed to the same coastline, arriving around lunchtime, checking into our home away from home, and still having most of the day to venture about. Check in times have gotten so late in the day now that ‘the day’ is mostly gone. Check out times are just as bad so I always feel as if I must book an extra day just to have the experience of having any sort of actual time away.

I also, when I think too long about the subject, get a bit miffed that my dollars are being used to hold a room or house that reality tells me I won’t be allowed to occupy for 1/4 of my four days on the road. This issue is the biggest reason that I would love to OWN a small home near the coast. I could leave at 4AM if I chose, arrive by breakfast time and have an entire day to do nothing, which is the entire purpose behind my vacation. I don’t like feeling cheated out of my doing nothing plans.

I went to bed last night with a sinus headache. Even with allergy meds on board, my head knows when pollen levels change. I don’t sneeze and itch so much, but pressure in my head skyrockets. We have just moved from tree pollen to grass in my area. I didn’t need the meteorologist to confirm this for me. This morning the headache lingers, but even more bothersome is the fact that I have some sort of pinched nerve or muscle strain right under my left shoulder. I’m shifting and turning and bending, trying to find a comfortable position while trying not to think of that two hour drive ahead…

How does something like this even happen? I seriously doubt that I was doing gymnastic maneuvers in my sleep. I usually fall asleep on my right side and wake up on my right side. My hips typically don’t like that I don’t move much at night and it takes me awhile to get moving in the morning, but how does one manage to aggravate a muscle, or pinch a nerve in their sleep?

It is what it is though, and I will do my best to overlook it all, arrive in one piece, buy a donut or scone at the new bakery later today, and enjoy the sounds of the sea.

 

7 thoughts on “Determined to make this a grand day”

    1. Sorry to disappoint you, but after an Aleve it completely went away, as did the headache which is now just a nudge right alongside my nose so definitely sinus. Thank you for going into nurse mode though. I’ll try to give you a heads up if I every think anything is really serious šŸ˜‰

      Like

      1. Ughhh. I think I’ve had too much excitement at work lately. I was starting to think worst case scenario so thanks for the update. šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ Enjoy your time!

        Liked by 1 person

Love to hear from you!

