Wanting…and tasting

Are you familiar with that idiom that goes something like “I wanted it so bad I could taste it…”

I oddly remember my mother used to say that sometimes. Right now, it happens to be a great way to describe this divorce process. The wanting to be finished is palpable. Freedom is so close that I can taste the sweetness on my tongue.

Yet we wait. We start down all those new pathways that one must take when they end a part of their existence, yet still have to start living all over again… but we just can’t quite reach the finish line.

There are things to be done, of course. Lots and lots of paperwork, and changes: removing names and connected identities, all sorts of movement from we to me. Some of that can be done now, during the waiting time. A lot of those things are forced to wait as well, and then be accomplished in a flurry of post-final-decree-I-am-single-and-ready-to-get-on-with-my-life-madness.

I don’t wait well. As I just said to someone yesterday, Patience is not a virtue that I claim. I am being forced to wait. I love the state that I live in, or at least I do in all respects except for divorce. In an uncontested divorce with no minor children, whereby every single aspect of married life has been looked over, divided, listed and assigned…whereby every financial detail has been agreed upon…all without lawyers because both parties wanted the divorce equally…my gorgeous-for-it’s-natural-beauty, liberal leaning  state still enforces a 90 day waiting period before a divorce can be finalized.

I have filed forms that were nothing more than 10 pages of ‘check the appropriate box’ responses all referencing our agreement. They sit, signed and stamped, in a file in my county clerks office. I have completed the remaining forms- again, 20 odd pages of checked boxes referencing that very same agreement…waiting for me to stand in front of a judge, assure him that ‘yes, we both want to end this marriage,’ and then watch him place his name on a paper printed from my computer, releasing my spouse and myself.

Do I feel as if we are wasting 90 precious days of freedom? Clearly the answer is yes. I want my own name on my own accounts. I want to find my own new home and not be encumbered by the fact that no one will believe that I will have an income post-divorce because they have no evidence, only my word that ‘the divorce will be final in mid-July.’

I want to change all the we things and make them me things. I want my identity back, fully and completely. Even though I was a fully functional, independent adult before marriage, maintained personal accounts throughout marriage, have an amazing credit score, continued to work during most of the marriage, and can still be considered mentally competent to pay my bills on time and correctly, I am now fully confronted by my social standing as married female.

And I don’t like. But…I will not go off on a feminist inspired tirade, claiming sexism and oppression and marginalization and patriarchy, even though I really, deeply, and sincerely want to.

I will simply reiterate that a 90 day wait period, in this type of divorce, is ridiculous! I would like my judicial system to come to terms with the fact that some of it’s citizens can very easily think for themselves, come to mutual agreement, and move on with living. Autonomy doesn’t have to be a bad word. It does not have to be a word that strikes fear into the hearts of men who begin to imagine chaos and civil uprising and desperate females crying at their courtroom doors, begging and pleading and claiming that ‘it was all a misunderstanding…I never really meant to leave him…let me go back…I promise that I’ll behave…’

Having no choice, no option, no ability to move on, only to sit and imagine that far off day when pen on paper provides freedom, well that sucks.

90 days of waiting sucks, pure and simple.

 

5 thoughts on “Wanting…and tasting”

  1. 90 days, huh? Seems just a tad too long of a time to wait considering the facts of your divorce. Do they make you wait 90 days to get married after getting your marriage license? Probably not. I don’t know how I’d handle being in limbo like you are right now, but I imagine I’d grumble a lot. Hang in there and feel free to mutter at will. You deserve to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My daughter asked that same question Ally, about the waiting for marriage thing, and no-it’s something like 3 days in our state. I have been wondering how other states handle this issue. I’m sure we aren’t alone in these rules, and the freedom to mutter and whine is appreciated 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I get it. I really do — both the frustration and (from the far side now myself) rationale for the 90-day waiting. Does it help at all [not with the suckage itself; I just mean sometimes putting my emotions in a different context helps me be more patient with my own impatience, if that makes sense] to remember that you are *not* just waiting 90 days: you are waiting 90 days MORE, on top of all of the months and months (and years and years) of waiting you have already put in…?

    Or that may just be my thing.

    Regardless: You are on your path. Feminist rant — hell, feminist ROAR — all you want; we are listening and we support you. We are roaring with you. I, for one, have already got mid-July marked down in my calendar and will have a bottle of vicarious champagne in my fridge with time enough to chill.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry to say, I am not willing to see anything more than a very personal affront to MY freedom. I choose to wallow in a decidedly snarky ‘poor, pitiful me’ attitude, at least for a day or two, 😉 then I have to get back to more paperwork and getting my share of retirement income- which ultimately will keep me busy for some of this 90 days, and which I will be happy for down the road when all this is a mere memory.
      As to that champagne, have a ‘sip’ and then shower yourself in the rest–solidarity in singlehood!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Love to hear from you!

