Please don’t take offense, but I really don’t find myself caught up in the concept of “Self-Care”. I have all sorts of feels about the term and the industry that has been spawned from such a proactive pattern that should (I believe) be a simple part of our lifestyle. Frankly, we just need to do right by ourselves, think about ourselves and our needs and live with those better life practices all the time. I know- how easy is it for me to say…the retired person with no major responsibilities!

Given that I have lived a longish amount of time, I thought it might be appropriate to share a few stories about my younger days- those day when no one used the term self-care, no one really thought about self-care, and when being youngish meant making foolish, reckless, and possibly really harmful decisions.

Baby Oil Broiling

I happened to be rather pasty looking as a child, blamed mostly on my Nordic heritage. One of my major goals as a teen prior to full-time summer work and car money, was spending the summer tanning. That always involved the reclining style webbed lawn chair- covered of course in a beach towel, the portable radio tuned to my local AM station which at the time happened to be KJR-Seattle-Channel 95, the donning of the most current bikini, and finally the well thought out, highly strategic positioning of said lawn chair to catch every last ray of late morning-full afternoon sun. Oh… also the economy size bottle of baby oil.

Who remembers the Coppertone ads of the 1970’s? The cute, young, pony-tailed girl with the playful pooch tugging on her dainty swimsuit bottoms. No mentions of sunscreens in those days. It was tanning oil all the way baby, and a less expensive version for the cost-conscious, I-so-need-a-car-of-my-own teen was baby oil. I suspect that if you look back to the heading you probably know where this is going. Hours in the full sun, slathered in baby oil, literally cooking my body back to front…and the sunburns…blistered, peeling sunburns. I marvel that I am relatively unscathed today. Perhaps we still had some ozone layer back then.

Why Are The Trees In The Middle Of The Road?

Advancing a few years but still none the wiser, how about an illicit drug encounter. We had planned a girlfriends trip to the beach on a lovely summer day complete with picnic food, beer bought for us by someone’s older sibling, and a full pan of pot laced brownies. I was the driver so I know there couldn’t have been more than 4 of us as my sub-compact Plymouth Arrow (yes I got the car) was just too tiny and we had to have enough room for all appropriate manner of beach gear as well. This one was simple: a full, fun day at the beach (2 1/2 hours away) and then an evening drive back home. I remember making the brownies as a group, the day before the trip. The pot was acquired from the same older sibling who purchased the beer…or maybe they were wine coolers as we were really into syrupy sweet wine coolers at the time. Anyway- none of us had a clue about the amount of pot you would generally put into a batch of brownies. We weren’t a part of the expert “stoner” group. We didn’t smoke pot. We just wanted to enhance the gooey chocolatey goodness a bit. I remember a pretty full baggie of pot (although how reliable my memory really is seems pretty questionable at this point) and I suspect most of it ended up in the batter. I have no idea how many brownies I consumed that day but I do have a lasting memory of leaving the beach driving my Plymouth Arrow with 3 other stoned friends and suddenly encountering (on a downhill curving road) an entire forest of pine trees walking themselves onto the roadway directly in front of me in a rather undulating haphazard dance. Given the fact that I am writing this post today means that I avoided the walking trees and survived the trip home even though I have no memory of driving at all. There was no more pot, ever, after that day.

Let’s Make the Ex-Boyfriend Jealous in the Worst Way Possible

After dating my first post high school boyfriend for about 2 years it became evident that breaking up was the thing to do- not by my choice at the time, but inevitably the best thing that could have happened as he was marching headlong into that illicit drug life that I had left behind after the brownie incident. I was however, still very much in my rebellious, I-will-show-my-alcoholic-mom-a-thing-or-two phase so parties with friends on the weekends absolutely involved drinking, usually within some level of reason until…

…our mutual circle of friends meant that the ex- Tim -and I ended up at a party together on some rural road on the outskirts of the county. I have to stress the rural part. There were no street lights, there were ditches and trees all along the abundant gravel roads and no close proximity to real EMS stations if the need arose. At that time Tim had a roommate he had befriended at work and of course there was irony in the fact that I had actually gone to school with the roommate- well known as a goof-up and a stoner. Perfect for Tim and his burgeoning lifestyle and perfect for me to make some unplanned, ridiculous attempt to spark jealousy from Tim. After drinking way too much and literally tossing myself at the roommate Paul, who was even more intoxicated than I was, I found myself willingly hopping on the back of a motorcycle behind Paul and roaring off full tilt down one of those super dark, gravel roads. I should add that this was summer, I was wearing cut-off shorts, a halter top and have no idea if I had shoes on. Surely Deb- a helmet? Surely not I admit because no one wore helmets back then. The ride is a blur but I do remember loving the feeling of going fast. I also remember making the final turn back down the road to the house where the party was, hearing a lot of flying gravel and feeling the back of the bike underneath me wobble and slide a lot as we seemed to really lean extremely far into the curve. Going back inside I was pretty sure Tim didn’t even realize I was gone, and certainly not with Paul. A short time later I overheard Paul talking and laughing with a group, recalling the ride and finding it extremely hilarious as he retold how he had come within inches of laying the bike down on that final turn after taking the corner way too fast. The only thing that would have stopped us as we tumbled and skidded down the pavement were the cars parked in the driveway. The only thing that would have stopped us had we flown into the air was the dense stand of trees lining the roadside. Believe me, I know exactly what you’re thinking and I agree completely. That night was not my last adventure on a bike but it was the first and only time my immaturity and stupidity was in charge.

I think that it has to be clear to everyone that each incident that I just shared (those are the most severe ones) was never done with the idea of my best interests in place. Of course I believed I had reasons, good reason, for doing what I did at the time. Thankfully I have 50ish years of separation from those decisions. I learned lessons from each one. I learned that I needed to take better care of myself. Self-care to me means incorporating all the hard lessons, all the really senseless things we do, and making a decision to be better, kinder and more centered on ourselves in general. It means valuing the body and the mind that we claim as our individual self.

At The Heart of The Matter this morning I’ve written some personal thoughts about self-care. Please pop over for my discussion and impressions on this topic and on why I question the role of social definitions and even trending attempts to take what I see as the simplicity out of simply loving and valuing you.

42 thoughts on “Is “Self-Care” Just a Bunch of Hooey?

  1. I found this post hilarious! Wish I had anecdotes from a mis-spent youth. Sadly I was born middle aged. And “self care”? Hoo-ey for sure

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! This comment made me laugh 🙂 I wasn’t a full-blown wild child but I had my moments over a few years, these being the highlights that I was willing to share publicly 😉 I also appreciate knowing someone else who is willing to question the self-care concept.

      Like

  2. I prefer your simpler take on the idea of self-care. We don’t really need books and classes. We learn by living and doing – even the wild and crazy stuff! Believe me, I have plenty of these stories, which go to prove what a slow learner I have been. Even so, I know what to do – just don’t always follow that path.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I truly appreciate that Eilene. There’s so much out there circling around about what one should or shouldn’t do, what is the right or the wrong way, but I really feel that underneath all the searching we know what works and what we need if we just trust ourselves. I’ve come a long way, but like you I don’t always do what I know I should! I still believe in myself though and have the capability to correct my path. For me anyway, that’s enough.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, your definition of self care makes sense to me. It’s not about “pampering ourselves.” It’s about actually taking care of ourselves, and learning from our youthful (and even not-so-youthful) mistakes. Believe me, I’ve made both kinds. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I enjoyed reading this. I remember broiling myself in baby oil AND with lemon juice on my blonde hair. It was like I was trying to get skin cancer in the future, but didn’t know it then, so I did what all the girls did. Bad idea to follow the crowd. I know that now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d forgotten about the lemon juice trick, although I had dark hair but I’m sure all those vivacious blonde cheerleaders had lemon juice handy all the time. I’ve now just remembered the product Sun-In. Did you know of that?

      I tend to think most people can claim their own form of “follow the crowd” periods in life but can say thankfully that they outgrew most of those moments as adults… I hope!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I had Sun-In later when I was in college, if it was around before then I wasn’t familiar with it. Lemon juice did the trick at the time, although I wasn’t a cheerleader TO BE CLEAR.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. LOL! My bad, I was generalizing a bit there, assuming of course that all cheer staff held group hair lightening sessions between pep rallies and games. You dear Ally Bean, have always been your own force so even had you been a cheerleader your reasons would have been your own. I often wondered what would have happened if I had tossed some lemon juice in my hair? I suppose I assumed I would have streaks and not be prepared to call that much attention to myself at the time 😉

          Liked by 1 person

  5. I loved reading your exploits as a young woman. I didn’t know pot existed when I was that age but apparently, my sister did and so did my first husband. I can’t relate to most of this because I was one boring human. So glad you survived all those scary moments. I get to live vicariously. Maybe that’s why I love reading. 🙂 Self care?? I’m sure that’s when I pass up the second donut.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Don’t call yourself boring Marlene, just someone with better sense! Books can take us just about anywhere, so can blogs in a quicker version I guess. I like that! Also you have the best definition of self-care I’ve ever heard. It takes a huge effort to bypass donut #2 sometimes 😉

      Like

      1. I have you other blog post still open and will reply soon. I’ve found it helpful so far. I learned about self care as an adolescent when I left home for a year to stay with grandparents. It saved my sanity to keep being able to be there later for my siblings. You can’t give from an empty well. It’s why I ended two marriages. There was nothing left of me and I needed to fill up again. Donuts are much easier to say no to. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Love hearing these stories from your younger days. Isn’t it amazing we made it into adulthood as unscathed as we did???? I have my own set of stories that make me shake my head, what in the heck was I thinking….. Not sure if it’s true or not, but I’ve heard it several times, that the human brain does not really mature until at least age 25. Not sure I completely buy that . I can go either way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard much the same thing Doug regarding maturity but seriously I know folks well beyond 25 that don’t seem to have a lot of good sense or maturity at all 😉 Fortunately my wild phase didn’t last long and the rest of it was milder than what I shared here. I settled a lot once I had that first real dental assisting job and knew I had to depend on myself completely.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s true, I have an extended family member who is now approaching 90. A man’s body with the brain of a 14 year old.

        Like

  7. That brownie story is such a classic. I can only imagine what those dancing pine trees must’ve been like. I am so glad you drove home ok and are able to relive and laugh about the tale today.

    I equally had a very trippy experience with pot in my younger days and that was enough to scare me away from it. But if it helps others, I’m all for it.

    I agree with you that self care has come quite commercialized through marketing. It’s an industry behind it. I do agree that it is important and needed but it really has to come from within and a whole self approach as you noted.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m chuckling but also glad that you can commiserate with my little hallucinatory moment! It all could have been avoided had we just had an actual recipe for the specific amount of pot to toss in the mix, but when you look at a baggie full it seems really plausible that it all should go in right 😉 I have to hope that what is offered now in a packaged edible form provides something less freaky than our attempts back then 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh yes! The baby oil sunburn. I remember my pale British skin being burned to a crisp on more than one occasion.

    As for the pot brownies, I literally laughed out loud because that was definitely something my friends and I would have done back in the day.

    It really is a wonder we all survived!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think I realized using baby oil was so wide spread Michelle! So many comments say they did the same thing and while I knew I wasn’t unique it’s sort of good to know I wasn’t the only one cooking myself…literally 🙂

      I totally agree with you- how is it that we are still around 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  9. You were quite the crazy one! Self-care varies so much from person to person and in order to care for ourselves, we have to be honest about reality. Sometimes it’s bad and painful. We often have to work through “stuff” and along the way to acceptance, it’s OK to feel angry and negative. Or wallow, like your coffee buddy! (moi) As someone who doesn’t and won’t have all the answers and will die searching for them, I salute this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Crazy is a word, although I prefer young and reckless I think 😉 I sure gained some insight into what not to do. I totally agree- life is hard, often more than we expected it to be but the struggle and levels of negativity and/or anger are natural reactions when things are tough. I love the “work through stuff” idea because we grow so much through that process. That is the learning and then knowing I’m thinking of. BTW, you do not wallow- you reflect 🙂 Thank you for the salute!

      Like

  10. I baked my lily-white skin too and have a couple of skin cancers to show for it. What an idiot. When I think of some of the stupid, sometimes dangerous, things my younger self did, I cringe (and then I thank the universe that I somehow survived.

    I feel the same about the term “self-care”… I’m off to check out your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, it’s hard to imagine what we were thinking…although I guess maybe we weren’t thinking in combination with a lack of real information at the time. I don’t dwell though on the craziness at this point, just try to be aware and show caution in what I choose to do.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. When we were young, we thought we were immortal. I also used baby oil. We were twenty minutes from the beach in Mukilteo and I used a silver reflective blanket to lay on — not a towel like you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I get that Neil- so many things we thought were okay or that we just didn’t know. But on the flip side, would I as a teen, who of course believed I was wise in every way, changed my summer routine? I believe that saying is correct in many cases- something about “learning the hard way…” 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Yikes, Deb!! I certainly did the sunbathing (aka sun-baking) with baby oil, seriously encouraged by my mother I might add, but happily I avoided drinking (+) and driving. Probably by luck rather than good sense. Phew.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my Jane, mom was encouraging? It seems from many of the comments it was a trend back then- which makes me laugh at myself…the person who now claims not to follow trends! I suppose I really have learned some lessons 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Oh boy – I could have painted the baby oil scene exactly like yours. And I have variations of the other two that still make me shiver to this day. I love how you can write these stories so humorously — and learn from them. You’re right, we can be the own source of our own wisdom!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was certainly a different time in many ways Wynne yet I think the theory applies still. There are reasons we do senseless things- one of the biggest reasons being the growth and learning.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. These stories are great, Deb! 😂 Thank you so much for sharing with us! I love your conclusion that self-care is about incorporating all the hard life lessons, and learning to better ourselves based on the lessons learned.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I don’t know what I love more…the undulating, dancing pine trees, the memories of baby oil ‘broiling’ — LOL – or your daredevil self. No helmet…no shoes! This is a keeper of a post, Deb! 😎

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are now closed.